A little bit of History
We are very lucky to be located in a beautiful location a stunning building steeped with history. The building used to be a working Mill dating back to 1786 when it was first a paper Mill. Here they produced the paper for £5.00 and £10.00 notes to be printed on, it was used in Parliament for notes and solicitors used it for deeds. The Mill was a very busy place employing up to 150 local people. The old steam trains ran past the Mill at that time and would have been essential to the Mill as was the river. From the 1880's the Mill became a leatherworks hanging the leathers and treating them all here. In 1967 the Mill changed again into a textile woollen Mill making blankets and woollen products.
Finally in the late 1980's the Monshin family took over the building and with some very hard work and renovation work turned it into the Centre we are very proud of today. Opening in 1991 the centre offers a mix of local crafts people demonstrating most days, Antiques and Vintage furniture and collectables quirky and traditional gifts and home accessories and a fantastic Restaurant. It is still a family ran business today and we are all very proud to offer good traditional service in such delightful surrounds.